Explain Transmission and Distribution systems

Electric-power transmission system is the system used for bulk transfer ofelectrical energy, from generating power plants to electrical substations located near demand centers. The different systems of transmission are:

  • DC system
  • Single phase AC system
  • Two phase AC system
  • Three phase AC system

The part of power system which distributes electric power for local use is known as Distribution System.

The different distribution systems are:

AC Distribution system
– Primary distribution system
– Secondary distribution system

DC Distribution system
– 2 wire DC system
– 3 wire DC system